Fort Fred 2017

After missing the Fort Frederick Market Fair last year (because it conflicted with PAX East), I was excited to attend this year. I had missed the shopping! The one downside was it was the hottest weather it has ever been since I started attending the fair in 2011. So we had to take it slow in our walking around, and several of our planned group ended up not attending. Ah well, there’s always next year!

I made a new chintz gown for the fair, so I insisted on wearing it, even though it was a bit heavy for the heat. Thankfully, it’s machine washable! (The fabric is “India Garden” from Colonial Williamsburg.)
Fort Fred

Fort Fred

I made a lapis necklace and earrings to coordinate with my dress.
Fort Fred

Jess in her spring-y jacket and petticoat
Fort Fred

Me with Ashley, in her beautiful striped gown
Fort Fred

Rebecca made this zone front jacket new for the fair. It’s only her second 18th C outfit, and it turned out excellent!
Fort Fred

Cap ribbons on display
Fort Fred

Kerchiefs hanging at The Silly Sisters
Fort Fred

Clouded stockings at 96 District Fabrics
Fort Fred

More stockings at 96 District Fabrics
Fort Fred

Basket of threads at 96 District Fabrics
Fort Fred

Caps on display at Fashions Revisited
Fort Fred

Robert Mouland performing period music
Fort Fred

Fort Fred

I bought myself a turquoise blue bonnet at the fair, and it went perfectly with my outfit!
Fort Fred

All of my purchases: the aforementioned bonnet, some silk ribbon and dress pins from 96 District Fabrics, wool tape from Wm Booth Draper, a straw hat from The Silly Sisters, some leather stocking garters for Mike, a fichu from Smiling Fox Forge, and a cap from Fashions Revisited
Fort Fred

And one more photo of the lovely cap from Fashions Revisited
Fort Fred

All of my photos are here.

2 thoughts on “Fort Fred 2017

Leave a Reply

