PAX East 2017

I managed to take a nap, but now I’m back awake and back to blogging. I’m on to our trip to PAX East back in March. I’ll start with a general recap of the con itself, then follow with posts of cosplay photos.

The traditional “I’ve arrived at Logan Airport” photo. It’s still a little weird remembering that this isn’t my home airport now. I flew in and out of here so much back when we lived in Cambridge.
PAX East Trip

The Thursday before the con I took my yearly pilgrimage to Sewfisticated Fabrics (in Framingham). Man, I miss this fabric store! I didn’t realize how lucky I was to have it until we moved.
PAX East Trip

Of course we had to stop by the sporting goods store to get some Super Bowl LI swag.
PAX East Trip

We also swung by the New England Mobile Book Fair (which appears to, sadly, be slowly going out of business). And I found this gem in the remainders section. How many things wrong can you spot with her outfit?
PAX East Trip

Then, because you can never have too much fabric, we also stopped at the Sewfisticated Fabrics location in Cambridge, my old home store.
PAX East Trip

Friday we arrived at PAX just around the time the doors opened, but were met with a long line that snaked around outside, where it was pretty cold. So we went and sat in the lobby of the adjoining Westin to wait. After a little over an hour, the line was still there but moving quickly, so we went in.
PAX East

The first of many shots of the crowd on the Expo Hall floor. This was Friday. Friday, people! Wait until you see Saturday….
PAX East

One of the coolest vendors we saw was Level Up Dice. Their multi-colored aluminum dice are works of art. The salespeople were giving an interesting demonstration explaining the “optimal” randomness of the dice, as they are specially balanced. And yes, I did ask questions about the statistical metrics they were using to define optimal randomness.
PAX East

PAX East

The PC gaming area, with the tabletop area beyond it
PAX East

On Saturday we started the day with an advanced casting and molding panel given by LeeleetheBunny Cosplay and Glitch Cos, with sponsorship from Reynolds Advanced Materials. It was very informative, and they did a life casting demo right then and there.
PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

The resulting face cast
PAX East

And now, the crowd shot for Saturday
PAX East

Did I mention it was crowded? I used to get a bit freaked by the number of people at PAX East. These days I’m used to it, though it does mean I have to be prepared to stand in lines for things. Thankfully the con and convention center staff are pretty organized, which cuts down on bottlenecks and confusion.
PAX East

The traditional Chessex dice photos
PAX East

And then Sunday! While we were waiting in line for a panel, some folks came by and started some impromptu games with those in the queue. This guy wearing a chicken hat was one of the game runners.
PAX East Trip

I think Mike won a sticker from the game? I can’t remember.
PAX East Trip

We went to a very informative panel about cosplay tips and tricks, which included Lucky Grim Creative, BelleChere, and Lodaim Cosplay on the panel.
PAX East Trip

PAX East Trip

One last crowd shot
PAX East

And on Monday we flew home!
PAX East Trip

Leave a Reply

