My Costumes at PAX East 2017

I brought three costumes to PAX East this year: one new and two old. The rewears were DC Comics Bombshells Batwoman and Princess Luna (though I did make a new crown for the latter). The new costume was one of my dream projects: the purple Jim Balent-style Catwoman design. All three worked well, but I’ve already started on a new version of Catwoman. The cowl I had is a bit too small for me, and the bodysuit could be longer through the torso. But I was still happy with the resulting cosplay at PAX!

The only major hiccup I had was I forgot my belt for Batwoman at home. Mike and I searched everywhere through our luggage for some sort of replacement. (Of course I discovered the problem only the Friday morning of the con, not when I went fabric shopping the day before). We hit upon a white balance card lanyard that I promptly sacrificed for the cause by cutting apart.
PAX East Trip

I was able to sew the ends of the lanyard together around myself. I think it worked out okay!
PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

A selfie after the photo shoot
PAX East Trip

On Saturday I debuted Catwoman!
PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

And a big shout-out to BelleChere, whose Catwoman cosplay was one of the inspirations for mine. Her styling was just spot-on, so I tried to emulate it. I have a print signed by her hanging in my sewing room.
Catwoman

On Sunday I went with a casual, comfy costume: Princess Luna. Other than the new crown, I had worn the costume before.
PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

PAX East

I had a wonderful time at PAX East this year! And I was even able to salvage the white balance card lanyard. Just a few stitches, and it was good as new!
PAX East Trip

Leave a Reply

