Francaise Dinner 2017

I’m still behind on costume event recaps, but I just finished processing photos from this year’s Francaise Dinner, and I didn’t want to wait to post. This year Jess and Isabella organized, and they chose a new location in Annapolis, O’Brien’s Steakhouse. It was nice to have a change of pace and to get to eat crab cakes. Thank you for organizing, ladies!

I debuted a new dress, which I had been working on for over a year, since before last year’s Francaise Dinner (which is when I was originally planning to wear it…but I obviously didn’t finish it in time). I wanted to emulate the dresses seen in some 1780s paintings, where the bodices are fitted tightly with long sleeves. I opted for a round gown style, because these paintings often don’t show a petticoat opening in the center front. I was very pleased with how the dress came out.

First, the group photo. Unfortunately the indoor photos are a bit yellow because the light fixtures in the dining room had red shades and very warm-colored bulbs. Thank goodness we shot in raw format.
Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

I made the glass cross I wore on my choker necklace by combining several vintage German cabochons using epoxy clay.
Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

Here is my sales table setup for my Etsy shop.
Francaise Dinner

Chelsea in her lovely new Francaise
Francaise Dinner

Doug and Mike
Francaise Dinner

Rebecca and Kristin
Francaise Dinner

Jess and Kat (and her amazing pink wig!)
Francaise Dinner

Kat, Maggie, and Judy
Francaise Dinner

Francaise Dinner

Kristin won a beautiful tiara in the raffle!
Francaise Dinner

Mike won a great informal cap made by Fashions Revisited.
Francaise Dinner

And Judy won a gift certificate from American Duchess!
Francaise Dinner

All of my photos are here.

Leave a Reply

