PAX East 2016

Catch up post! Mike and I attended PAX East in late April. I’ll start by posting about the con, then follow up with costume photos. It was another fun year, particularly because friends who don’t always get to come (David, Melissa, and Greg) attended too. The one hiccup was that we couldn’t get into any of the nearby hotels. So we had to stay near our old apartment in Cambridge and drive to the convention center. But we made it work, and at least the hotel was cheaper and included a decent breakfast.

The biggest logistical challenge this year was they instituted metal detectors to get into the BCEC. Security has increased over the years, accelerating since the Boston Marathon bombing. Last year they started checking bags. This year the metal detectors. On the first day of PAX, this led to long lines. But to the organizers’ credit, they increased staff the next day which cut down on wait times a lot.
PAX East

Yay, we made it into the convention center! (On Friday I wore my Rainbow Dash costume.)
PAX East

Hello inflatable Pikachu balloon, my old friend.
PAX East

Somehow the Expo Hall got even bigger this year. I don’t understand how it’s possible to squeeze all this into the building!
PAX East

There were these guys doing this funny bit, walking around and asking people if they needed help with their “PAX Return.”
PAX East

Beth filled out her return!
PAX East

Mike bought this cool Captain America shirt from Loot Crate.
PAX East

Selfie with Beth!
PAX East

Chessex Dice booth
PAX East

David, Melissa, and Jenn playing Flashpoint.
PAX East

Jeremy and Mike playing Dance Central on stage. I have video of this. It’s precious.
PAX East

Mike showing off his Robert Khoo pin.
PAX East

Minis painted by some of my friends (I think these are Melissa, Beth, and Jenn’s).
PAX East

Mike and Beth playing Dance Central. Not exactly synchronized.
PAX East

Mike and Beth playing Time Crisis in the arcade.
PAX East

Tabletop gaming area
PAX East

Jenn and Beth playing King of New York.
PAX East

Cool props displayed at a cosplay panel run by members of the 405th.
PAX East

We stayed at the Kendall Hotel. Who doesn’t like a place that has fashion plates as part of the décor?
PAX East

Jenn and I were unintentionally matching on Sunday!
PAX East

No big costume for Sunday. But I couldn’t help sprucing things up a bit (ears and unicorn horn from Yaya Han). I had one girl ask me if I was cosplaying Princess Luna from MLP, because I was wearing my galaxy tights too. I told her no, but thanks for the thought!
PAX East

A colorful display in the Expo Hall
PAX East

PAX East

Leave a Reply

