Rockford Peach Uniform

Due to Maggie‘s influence, I recently made a Rockford Peach Uniform based on those worn in the movie A League of Their Own. These uniforms are so cute, and Maggie told me there was a pattern available that went together easily. When I floated the idea of us dressing up together at the next Awesome Con DC, a plan was made. Maggie has finished her costume already, and posted about it here.

On Maggie’s advice, I used the “Peaches” pattern by Muffin Head Patterns on Etsy. It worked really well. The only modification I made was to gather the back bodice piece only towards the edges of the yoke and skirt, leaving everything laying flat at the center back.

Also on Maggie’s suggestion, I used Moda Bella Broadcloth in pale pink from Fabric.com as the main fashion fabric, and purchased these socks and belt in the red color from Amazon. Maggie also kindly gave me extra buttons she had left over for the closures and the extra fabric she had left over from her bloomers/shorts so I could use the excess (she got that fabric from Amazon here). I drafted the shorts pattern from these instructions from Make magazine on how to sew tap pants. I made them about 2 inches longer than called for in that tutorial.

For the hat, I wanted an unstructured baseball cap that did not stand up too stiffly. I ended up getting this one from Amazon. I purchased a set of embroidered patches from Little Diva’s Creations on Etsy. For the shoes, I bought a pair of generic black canvas sneakers on Amazon from here. The wig is this pin up style from Vogue Wigs, modified to fit my larger head (I had to add extra elastic to the back of the wig caul).

The first wearing will be at Awesome Con in a few weeks!

A League Of Their Own

This was my first time satin stitching on an applique by machine, for the numbers on the back of the uniform. It went okay.
A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own

The fabric for the shorts was a bit annoying to work with, since it shred easily and was very off grain. But with a lot of pressing and serging, I tamed it.
A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own

I pinned hairnets over the victory rolls on the wig to keep them in place. And added a large dose of hairspray.
A League Of Their Own

2 thoughts on “Rockford Peach Uniform

Leave a Reply

