Riversdale Twelfth Night Ball

Last night I attended the Twelfth Night Ball at the Riversdale House Museum. This was a wonderful opportunity to enjoy period dancing, historically researched food, and a festive atmosphere in a beautiful early 19th century house (constructed 1801-1807 by the Stier/Calvert family).

The ball consisted of an opening hour of dancing, followed by a scrumptious supper (including a meat pie, salad, macaroni pasta, and spice cake, all researched by foodways historian Joyce White), and finishing with more dancing. There was live music, with the dances ably called by James Wass. Our hostess was none other than Mrs. Calvert herself (played by Katherine Spivey).

I was highly impressed with the entire ball, and I very much hope to attend future events at the museum. I am glad that I found the museum on a random jaunt last March!

Riversdale 12th Night

I wore my dark blue tone-on-tone striped ballgown again, accented with a new wig from Fancy Nancy Hair on Etsy and a new necklace. I made the necklace only just before the ball, which included me working on it while already dressed in my gown (wielding pliers while wearing stays!). You can see a close up photo of the necklace (before I attached the clasp) on Flickr, here.
Riversdale 12th Night

Isabella in her beautiful new pink spencer
Riversdale 12th Night

Maggie dramatically dressed in a lovely black sari gown, with a fan from my Etsy shop, In the Long Run Designs
Riversdale 12th Night

Mike, wearing a new waistcoat that I made him earlier this month, his 1790s wool frock coat (on which I put a better collar for this wearing), and new breeches from Colonial Clothing of Mackinaw on Etsy
Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

The dining room, displaying the meat pies for supper
Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Crowning the queen and king of Twelfth Night
Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Mike, being a little suspicious and confused during a particularly complicated dance. With a view of the lovely turban worn by Riversdale’s costume historian Ann Wass.
Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Riversdale 12th Night

Mrs. Calvert, in all her finery!
Riversdale 12th Night

All of my photos are here.

Leave a Reply

